All-Party Parliamentary Group gets new shape following AGM

Following its AGM, the All Party Parliamentary Group for the UK Events Industry (APPG) has agreed its new list of officers. They are:

  • Chair, James Heappey MP (Conservative)
  • Vice-chair, Christian Matheson MP (Labour)
  • Vice-chair, Viscount Waverley (Crossbench)
  • Officer, Chris Davies MP (Conservative)
  • Officer, Nigel Huddleston MP (Conservative)

Welcoming the new composition of the APPG, James Heappey MP (pictured) said: “I’m delighted to welcome my colleagues onto the APPG and thank them for their enthusiasm and dedication in keeping the events industry on Parliament’s radar. We have a lot of work to do and some challenges to tackle. But my fellow APPG members and I are determined to make sure Parliamentarians keep events of all kinds front of mind in the coming year.”

The cross-party group describes its formal purpose as:

·      To represent the UK events industry in Parliament

·      To highlight the value of the industry

·      To engage with politicians and industry representatives

·      To ensure that the UK benefits from the success of large internationally prominent events.

Specialist industry PR & communications agency Davies Tanner continues to provide the official registered secretariat and communications support to the APPG. A new programme of meetings for 2017 is set to be confirmed shortly.

Paul Colston


Paul Colston

Managing Editor, Conference News & Conference & Meetings World.

Up Next

Related Posts