EVCOM appoints two new board directors, as Brian Kirsch retires

Industry association EVCOM has appointed two new board directors and confirmed that vice-chair Andrew Smith will succeed Steve Garvey as chairman after the AGM in June 2016.

Smith, who works at corporate screen content provider A-Vision, was on the board of IVCA before it merged with Eventia into EVCOM and is a strong advocate of the changes the organisation has made.

“Bringing film and live events together are two parts of the Holy Trinity of the communications and marketing mix. I plan to connect with more clients and digital companies to bring them into the fold as it is here that the whole communication offering can be discussed and also where business between member companies can truly grow. EVCOM should not just be about representing members and helping them win awards, but also about introducing opportunities to active member companies,” Smith said.

The new board members are Sam Wilson MD of ECO Events and Steve Garratt from the Giggle Group.

Wilson is a strong advocate of CSR and provides monthly blogs and items for the EVCOM newsletter spearheading CSR related initiatives. He was a member of Eventia for six years before the merger with IVCA.

Wilson recently travelled to Beijing to fly the flag for EVCOM and help businesses in China take action on reducing their environmental impacts.

Garratt rejoins the board to continue driving the membership committee. He trained as a theatre director.
And industry veteran Brian Kirsch has decided to step down from the EVCOM board as he heads into well-earned retirement. The board thanked him for his many years of support and hard work for the ITMA, Eventia and EVCOM.
The new EVCOM board line-up is as follows:

Steve Garvey, executive chairman
Dale Parmenter, drp – immediate past chairman
Andrew Smith, A-Vision – vice-chair
Rachel Ley, RLC Productions
Heather Robinson, Heather Robinson Live Communication
Andrew Winterburn, Ashfield Healthcare
Nick Terry, Top Banana
Sam Wilson, EcoEvents
Richard Cook, World Television
Sara Cooper, Plastic Pictures
Steve Salam, Future & Co
Steve Garratt, Giggle Group
Richard Heap, Baker Tilly
Cary Rueda, Petrofac
Richard McHardy, The McHardy Collective
Kylie Mather, Travlaw
Angela Law, Everysense

Garvey added: “The EVCOM board represents the live communication and corporate film industry through its wide and deep experience of every aspect of our industry. I’m delighted we’ve added Sam and Steve as directors and look forward to their contribution to our activities. EVCOM has a busy pipeline of events and is adding members, especially corporate clients who want to engage more with other industry players. We’ve made significant progress over the last three months and will continue to create more opportunities for our members to be more successful in 2016.”

The EVCOM Screen Awards 2016, the world’s largest corporate film awards, meanwhile, are also now open for entry.

The deadline for submissions is 25 February 2016 and judging will take place in March. The shortlist of successful entries will be announced in late March. There are 25 awards to be judged by a panel of industry experts.

The awards ceremony will take place in the Lindley Hall in Westminster on 28 April 2016.

Paul Colston


Paul Colston

Managing Editor, Conference News & Conference & Meetings World.

Up Next

Related Posts