RIBA Venues brings home Stirling Prize ceremony

RIBA Venues’ Jarvis Hall in London is to host the Royal Institute of British Architects’ (RIBA) Stirling Prize ceremony on 16 October. The institute’s blue ribband event returns to RIBA HQ for the first time in 16 years. Last year it was held at Central St Martins in London and in 2012 at Manchester Central.
The RIBA Stirling Prize is presented annually to the architects of a building that has made the greatest contribution to the evolution of architecture over the past year. The Shard, the Library of Birmingham and the London Aquatics Centre are among those buildings shortlisted for the prize this year.
After the ceremony in the Jarvis Hall, hosted by broadcaster and RIBA Honorary Fellow, Kirsty Wark. there will be a celebratory reception in the Florence Hall.

Stephanie Ellrott, Head of Venues at RIBA Venues, says: “We are delighted the event is coming back to its home after 16 years. The prize has been partly instrumental in turning the tide of negative public opinion against modern architecture that had existed during the 1980s and 1990s and making British architecture and design cool again.”
Do you have news for CN? Email: Paul Colston

Paul Colston


Paul Colston

Managing Editor, Conference News & Conference & Meetings World.

Up Next

Related Posts