New ABPCO board reflects rise in in-house PCO membership

The increase in membership from in-house PCOs working in the association sector has been reflected in the Association of British Professional Conference Organisers’ (ABPCO) board structure. The new board will be led by a joint-chair comprised of individuals from both the agency and in-house PCO sides of the market.

Caroline Windsor (pictured), Key Account Director of TFI Meeting Point and Nicole Leida, Head of Events at the Royal Society of Medicine, will lead ABPCO from January 2015.

The new board, which was voted on by a record 91 per cent of the ABPCO membership, also includes Rose Padmore from Opening Doors & Venue; Sue Etherington from The QEII Centre and Sandra Eyre from ACC Liverpool.

Jennifer Jenkins, current Chair of ABPCO, said: “Our new board includes a wide range of individuals from both the supply and demand side of the industry and accurately reflects the balance of our membership, particularly the increase we have seen recently from in-house PCOs working in the association sector.

‘The benefits of having two such well known, experienced and dedicated individuals will be of significant value to the association moving forward. Both have strong experience of the industry and will bring new ideas that will help strengthen ABPCO’s position as a leading industry organisation.

Jenkins added that Windsor and Leida’s focus over the coming months will include ongoing membership growth, the establishment of ABPCO membership as a true mark of an individual’s professionalism and the development of the association’s external voice across issues of importance to both the membership and our audience.

Windsor said: “It is an honour to join Nicole as joint-chair of ABPCO and I’m looking forward to the challenges ahead. As established members of ABPCO we have already had significant impact and input on the association’s business plan and are of one mind when it comes to our goals and long term vision.”

Martin Jack from Think Different Events and industry consultant Michael Foreman are both stepping down from the board.

The full board structure is:

  • Caroline Windsor, TFI Group Ltd – Joint Chair
  • Nicole Leida, Royal Society of Medicine – Joint Chair
  • Jennifer Jenkins, MCI UK – Past-ChairAnthony Hyde – Treasurer
  • Nicola Crossland, Tekevents
  • Niamh Mangan, ApotheCom ScopeMedical
  • Pamela Aston, Motor Neurone Disease Association
  • Aileen Crawford, Glasgow City Marketing Bureau
  • Rhodri Thomas, ICRETH at Leeds Beckett University
  • Celia Lloyd, Intelligent Events Ltd
  • Clare Beach, Azura Events Ltd
  • Sandra Eyre, ACC Liverpool

Do you have a news story for CN? Email: Zoe Vernor

Paul Colston


Paul Colston

Managing Editor, Conference News & Conference & Meetings World.

Up Next

Related Posts