2013 Shine Awards shortlist announced by Women 1st

Organisers of the thought leadership, training and mentoring programme, Women 1st, have announced their shortlist for the Women 1st Shine Awards 2013.
The awards, organisers claim, are the only accolades to recognise outstanding female and diversity achievement in the hospitality, passenger transport, travel and tourism industries. The Women 1st Shine Awards, organisers say, are designed to celebrate the brightest and best individuals who are paving the way for women across these industries and the organisations that are embracing diversity as a true business benefit.
This year’s winners will be announced during a gala dinner on 19 June 2013 at the Marriott Hotel Grosvenor Square in central London, following the second annual Women 1st Conference.
The evening will also see 25 inspirational women inducted into the Women 1st Top 100 Club, which recognises the most influential women in the hospitality, passenger transport, travel and tourism industries.
The shortlist for individual award recognition:
Woman of the Year

  • Jenny Body OBE – President-Elect, Royal Aeronautical Society
  • Julie Moore – Managing Director, Green Gourmet Ltd.
  • Michele Moore – Head of People Development, Elior UK
  • Margot Slattery – Managing Director Ireland and Northern Ireland, Sodexo
  • Carrie Wicks – Operations Director, Firmdale Hotels Plc

Lifetime Achievement (sponsored by Unilever Food Solutions UK and Ireland)

  • Jenny Body OBE – President-Elect, Royal Aeronautical Society
  • Elena Salvoni – Retired, Little Italy Soho
  • Julia Sibley – Chief Executive, Savoy Educational Trust
  • Sara Jayne Stanes OBE – Director, Academy of Culinary Arts
  • Gill Tynan – General Manager, Service Operations, Go-Ahead London

Rising Star (sponsored by McDonald’s)

  • Babs Coombes -Black Country Area Manager, Centro
  • Charlie Cousens – Hotel Manager, Strattons Hotel
  • Emma Cooper – Finance and Marketing Director, The Ambrette
  • Laura Davis – Sales Manager, Smart Hospitality
  • Rachel Phillips – HR Director, Marriott Hotels

Stepping Up

  • Laura Garton – Learning and Development Director Worldwide, Orient-Express
  • Sarah Jones – Head of Customer Services, Centro
  • Katy Maddison – Interim Commercial and Finance Director, Sodexo Cyprus
  • Sarah Prentice – Business Development Manager, Bartlett Mitchell
  • Sarah Swaysland – Marketing Manager, Be At One Cocktail Bars

Outstanding Entrepreneur

  • Cleopatra Browne – Managing Director, Celtic Coast Coasteering
  • Ciara Crossan  – CEO, WeddingDates UK
  • Carolyn Pearson – CEO, Maiden Voyage.com

Mentor of the Year

  • Liz Chandler – Director of Corporate Development, Merseytravel
  • Debrah Dhugga – General Manager, Dukes St. James London
  • Lin Dickens – Marketing Director, Bartlett Mitchell
  • Tracey Rogers – Managing Director, Unilever Food Solutions UK and Ireland

The shortlist for company award recognition is as follows:
Small Business

  • Dukes St. James London
  • Farm Stay UK
  • Green Gourmet Ltd.
  • Purple Cubed

Large Business

  • Addison Lee
  • Bourne Leisure
  • McDonald’s Restaurants
  • Merlin Entertainments

While nearly 60 per cent of the hospitality, leisure, travel and tourism workforce is female, only six per cent of director level positions are held by women. In the passenger transport industry, women make up just 22 per cent of the whole workforce.
Since its inception in 2009, Women 1st has supported over 1,000 women and its programmes are available throughout the United Kingdom.
Any conference-related news? Email sarah@mashmedia.net

Paul Colston


Paul Colston

Managing Editor, Conference News & Conference & Meetings World.

Up Next

Related Posts