Six cities enter race to host 2020 Olympic Games

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) has announced six cities are in the running to host the Games of the XXXII Olympiad in 2020. Baku in Azerbaijan, Doha in Qatar, Istanbul in Turkey, Madrid in Spain, Rome in Italy and Tokyo in Japan have all publically announced they are to submit a formal host application.

The respective National Olympics Committees had until 1 September 2011 to notify the IOC and had to ensure they met all the prerequisite criteria established by the IOC Executive Board. In May 2012, the Board will announced the finalists.

In Phase 1, known as the Candidature Acceptance Procedure, the IOC focuses on a technical review and the cities’ ability to host the Olympic Games in 2020. Cities are required to answer a questionnaire, and their answers are studied by the IOC.

Phase 2, known as the Candidature Procedure, concentrates on Games operational matters. Candidate cities will be requested to submit their Candidature File, which is an in-depth description of their Olympic project, and will be subject to a technical assessment made by the IOC Evaluation Commission. The Commission’s appraisal will be published and sent to the IOC members no later than one month before they cast their votes on 7 September 2013 and in time for the 2020 briefing for IOC Members.

The election of the 2020 host city will be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina in September 2013.

Any conference-related news? Email

Paul Colston


Paul Colston

Managing Editor, Conference News & Conference & Meetings World.

Up Next

Related Posts